British Vacuum Council

Request Information

Nanoporous Materials for Green Energy Conversion and Storage

October 14 -19, 2018, Seggau Castle, Austria


Sponsored by the International Union of Vacuum Science, Technique and Applications (IUVSTA)

The aim of the workshop is to address issues and challenges regarding the implementation of nanoporous materials for energy conversion and storage purposes combined with a minimal carbon footprint for the environment. The workshop will focus mainly on the emerging role of such materials towards:

  • conversion of energy into different forms using currently available green technologies, including solar cells and fuel cells,
  • storage of highly energy-­‐dense and environmental friendly gases, such as hydrogen and methane, and
  • electrochemical energy storage using batteries, supercapacitors and hybrid technologies.

Attention will be given to the influence of the porosity and surface chemistry of commercially available and lab-synthesized porous materials produced in various forms (powders, granules, pellets, cloths, thin films, membranes, etc.) on the overall performance towards such energy-­related applications.

The workshop is intended to provide a forum and networking venue for scientists, engineers, and technologists from academia, government laboratories, and industry. Attendees interested in synthesis and functionalization, characterization, performance evaluation, and application of nanoporous materials are welcome.

Invited speakers

  • Heinz Amenitsch, Graz University of Technology, Austria, and Austrian SAXS Beamline, Elettra, Trieste, Italy
  • Samuel Bernard, Research Institute on Ceramics, CNRS, Limoges, France
  • José Luís Figueiredo, Universidade do Porto, Portugal
  • Peter Hall, The University of Sheffield, U.K.
  • Michael Hirscher, Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems, Stuttgart, Germany
  • Ana Kalijadis, University of Belgrade, Serbia
  • Guillaume Maurin, Université Montpellier, France
  • Oskar Paris, Montanuniversität Leoben, Austria
  • Kyriaki Polychronopoulou, Khalifa University of Science & Technology, Abu Dhabi, UAE
  • Theodore Steriotis, National Center for Scientific Research Demoktritos, Athens, Greece
  • Valeska Ting, University of Bristol, U.K.
  • Matthias Thommes, Quantachrome Instruments, Boynton Beach, Fl, U.S.A. and University of Edinburgh, U.K.
  • Cheng-­‐Yu Wang, National Chiao Tung University, Hsinchu, Taiwan


Biljana Babic
University of Belgrade

Nikolaos Kostoglou
Montanuniversität Leoben

Christian Mitterer
Montanuniversität Leoben

Claus Rebholz
University of Cyprus
Nicosia, Cyprus

Important dates: Mark your calendar

Abstract submission:
May 4, 2018
Notification of successful abstracts: early June 2018
Full registration of participants: August 31, 2018
Workshop: October 14 19, 2018

What’s new

Search all our content