British Vacuum Council

Request Information


ChairProfessor Martin McCoustra
Vice ChairProfessor Timo Gans
Past ChairDr Alex Shard 
TreasurerDr Ron J Reid
SecretaryProfessor Arutiun Ehiasarian 
CouncillorProfessor Timo Gans 
Alternate CouncillorDr David Sykes 
Co-optedDr Alan Webb 
Full Members of Council1st Representative2nd Representative
Representing IOPAndrew Chew

Neil Curson
Representing UKSAFDr David Scurr
Graham Smith
Co-opted Members of Council (non-voting), as IUVSTA Divisional Representatives for Great Britain
Applied Surface ScienceDr David Scurr
Electronic Materials and ProcessingTBC
Nanometer StructureDr Steven Schofield
Plasma Science and TechniqueDr Deborah O'Connell
BiointerfacesDr Mischa Zeizer
Surface EngineeringProfessor Arutiun Ehiasarian
Surface ScienceDr Ziyou Li
Thin FilmProfessor Papken Hovsepian
Vacuum Science and TechnologyMr Joe Herbert

Constituent Bodies


The Institute of Physics


UKSAF (UK Surface Analysis Forum)

Associate Members

Vacuum Symposium

Vacuum Symposium

RGA Users Group

RGA User's Group

Other links

International Union for Vacuum Science

IUVSTA (International Union for Vacuum Science)

AVS Science and Technology Society

AVS Science and Technology Society

What’s new

Search all our content