School of Physics and Astronomy, University of Manchester

0161 306 9222

Request Information

The School of Physics & Astronomy at The University of Manchester includes the Schuster Building on the campus and the Jodrell Bank Observatory in Cheshire. It is one of the largest physics departments in the UK; each year, we take in around 250 new undergraduate and 50 new postgraduate students. There are around 80 members of academic staff and more than 100 research associates and fellows.  In the 2012 Shanghai Jiao Tong ranking of Physics departments the School was ranked 13th in the world. Amongst our recent highlights was the awarding of the 2010 Nobel Prize in Physics to Profs. Geim & Novoselov for their work on Graphene.